Thursday, 04 August 2011

About the music of „super zoom“


Jörg Ulrich KrahBy Jörg Ulrich Krah

In all cultures, music plays an essential role in expressing emotions as well as being part of rituals. Various attitudes to life and certain moods reflect in the according melodies and rhythms. Often, this acoustic irradiation has a manipulative function, which can effectively influence emotional conditions as well as behavioral patterns.

Historically almost every movement had its own original sound, for instance, the Flower-Power-Movement. The uniformity of those who appear to be living in luxury, the „Globalization-Generation“, expresses itself through groovy beats and an acoustic landscape which encourages consumption and strengthens the sense of belonging subconsciously. Electronic music production often takes the place of sounds which used to be played live.

StudioThe music of super zoom was entirely and deliberately recorded acoustically. However in contrast, it does play with the mentioned clichés that get interrupted or entirely disfigured. Determined and defined sounds are continuously left behind in order to make room for free soundscapes and improvisation.

The instruments, which were recorded in the studio, violoncello, guitar, contrabass, and drums/percussion, are supported by a live saxophone and clarinet player. During the performance, the music is played back by a sound technician. The stiffness of pre-produced recordings is removed through the use of various aleatoric tracks which orientate themselves on the theatrical dramaturgy.

Musicians super zoomMusical director & cello: Jörg Ulrich Krah
Drums/percussion: Andreas Schiffer
Guitar: Christoph Stock
Contrabass: Walter Singer
Clarinet, bass-clarinet, saxophone: David Huber
Recording technician: Thomas Egger

Attachments:
Download this file (Trackliste_super zoom.pdf)Tracklist super zoom



 

Volltextsuche

Donnerstag, 04. August 2011

Über die Musik zu super zoom

Jörg Ulrich KrahVon Jörg Ulrich Krah

In allen Kulturen spielt Musik seit jeher eine wesentliche Rolle für den Ausdruck von Emotionen und das Abhalten von Ritualen. Die unterschiedlichsten Lebensgefühle und Stimmungen spiegeln sich in den zugehörigen Melodien und Rhythmen. Oftmals übernimmt die akustische Beschallung dabei auch manipulative Funktionen, durch die emotionelle Befindlichkeiten und Verhaltensmuster gezielt beeinflusst werden können.

Historisch betrachtet hatten fast alle Bewegungen ihren ureigenen Sound, man denke beispielsweise an die Flower-Power-Bewegung. Die Uniformität der in scheinbarem Luxus lebenden „Generation Globalisierung“ drückt sich durch groovende Beats und eine den Konsum fördernde Klang-Kulisse aus, die ein Zugehörigkeitsempfinden oftmals unterbewusst suggeriert. Elektronische Musikproduktion übernimmt häufig die Funktion ehemals live eingespielter Klänge.

TonstudioDie Musik zu super zoom wurde bewusst zur Gänze akustisch aufgenommen, spielt jedoch im Kontrast dazu mit den eingangs erwähnten Klischees, die immer wieder unterbrochen oder gänzlich entstellt werden. Determiniert festgelegte Formen werden immer wieder zugunsten freier Klangflächen und Improvisationen verlassen.

Die im Studio aufgenommenen Instrumente Violoncello, Gitarre, Kontrabass und Schlagzeug/Perkussion werden durch einen Bläser an Saxophon und (Bass-)Klarinette unterstützt. Während der Vorstellungen wird die Musik durch einen Tontechniker zugespielt. Die Starrheit der vorproduzierten Aufnahmen wird mittels aleatorischen Einsatzes unterschiedlicher Spuren, die sich an der Bühnendramaturgie orientieren, aufgelöst.

Musiker super zoomMusikalische Leitung und Violoncello: Jörg Ulrich Krah
Schlagzeug und Perkussion: Andreas Schiffer
Gitarre: Christoph Stock
Kontrabass: Walter Singer
Klarinette, Bassklarinette und Saxophon: David Huber
Aufnahmeleitung: Thomas Egger

Attachments:
Download this file (Trackliste_super zoom.pdf)Tracklist super zoom



 

Anmelden



Volltextsuche